Job #15 – Fake Review Writer

The idea here is pretty clever, albeit unethical: A fake review writer is a person hired by a company, restaurant owner, retail owner – whoever really – to write a glowing review about a product and sometimes also to write negative reviews about the competition. The idea of it is to increase your product’s ratings on certain sites, while slamming the competition.

The problem is, some people are really, really bad at it. For instance:

“Hands down THE BEST Mexican restaurant in the city! Food is phenomenal, decor is great, waitresses are super friendly. I recommend everything on the menu because I’ve tried it all and can personally attest it is all just fantastic. And cheap too!!!”

I’ve been studying the art of the fake review for a whole twelve minutes and what I can tell you is, if you make it sound like it is inevitably going to be immensely pleasurable, you’re not doing it right. Once someone reads the above review and finds that the food actually isn’t that great, you’ll develop a reputation as an undependable clown.

The second rule I’ve learned in the past twelve minutes is, draw on positives and negatives. If you say that nothing needs improvement and everything is perfect (or the exact opposite), it’s a dead giveaway.

What’s interesting though, is that the believability of a review may be detectable even if you are convincing:

“In part, deceptive writers used more verbs than real review writers did, while the real writers used more punctuation than the deceptive writers.”

So, I’d have to make it sound professional, literate, and avoid using multiple exclamation points!!!!! (Among other things).

Pros:

  • I’ve been known to BS things pretty well.

Cons:

  • Is this legal?

Chick Magnet Factor

  • Not sure – What is the salary? Do I get paid per review?

Overall:

  • I’d like to write in some capacity, but I’m not sold that the joy of being a dick would be enough to make the job worthwhile if I’m still ultimately not making much money. I’d much rather write things like this.
7 responses to “Job #15 – Fake Review Writer

  • Deeone

    I’m thinking, this has got to be illegal! Right – Isn’t it? Please tell me, yes. I’m an avid review reader… any new business I plan on doing business with I check the reviews first. So if this is not illegal, why am I continuously reading reviews… they’re probably made up by some CEO trying to get their business to pick up. In which case… I’ll never read another review ever, ever, ever again. LOL :D

  • Lindsey

    Yes, it is legal, and Yes, it is a real job. Most of the time, it’s the owners/employees of a business that are writing the reviews. Especially if the place is slow and having issues bringing in customers. They will pay people to use social networking sites and review sites(Yelp, Angie’s list, etc) to talk about how awesome their business is.

    • Tom

      Yeah, that’s kind of what I gathered. But I did see that there was at least one lawsuit over it – someone got sued for writing a BS scathing review about a rival law firm and it was so poorly done that there was no way it could be real.

  • Ben Myers

    What Am I Going To Do After College is such a great blog! The writing is superb, the comments are always entertaining, and the writer himself is totally not a pretentious douche bag! The people are very friendly and most of all it’s FREE!!!!!!

  • Johnd666

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is excellent, as well as the content! keceacbaaeee

  • Johnb647

    This kind of game gives a real experience of building a geeafakegfcd

Leave a Reply

